Skip navigation



Time_Place_Space3 was the third laboratory of a five-year initiative that aims to challenge, invigorate and strengthen hybrid arts practice in Australia.

Time_Place_Space seeded new collaborations and productions with the potential to tour nationally and internationally, built new networks of artists, curators and presenters, broadened and diversified audiences, and established an international reputation for Australian artists working in this field. The first two Time_Place_Space laboratories were held at Charles Sturt University, Wagga Wagga, NSW with the third laboratory staged at AIT Arts Adelaide. “Artists from diverse cultural, geographic and artform backgrounds are provided with an environment where rigorous exploration and experimentation can take place over a solid, uninterrupted period of time—not only is this rare but critical in looking to the future of arts practice in this country” comments New Media Arts Board Chair Mr Michael Snelling.

The T_P_S 3 facilitators were: Marianne Weems (Co-founder and Artistic Director of The Builders Association in New York) John Cleater (Co-founder and designer for The Builders Association) John Gillies (Sydney-based video and installation artist) Clare Grant (Sydney-based theatre maker and dramaturg) Lyndal Jones (Melbourne-based visual and media artist)  and Teresa Crea (Adelaide based writer, director and media artist).

A component of Time_Place_Space3 was a one-day Masterclass solely for SA practitioners with John Cleater. This Masterclass was supported by Arts SA with a range of participants including artists, architects and designers.

The participants in Time_Place_Space3, who came from across Australia, were selected from a call for proposals. Working across performance, installation, film, video, visual arts, sound and new media, the nineteen participants were: Martyn Coutts (Tas) Teik Kim Pok (NSW) Lawrence English (Qld) Kate Richards (NSW) Susie Fraser (SA) Alan Schacher (NSW) Alexandra Gillespie (Qld) Peter Sheedy (SA) Jody Kingston (Qld) Alicia Talbot (NSW) Richard Lagarto (NSW) Layla Vardo (Vic) Mik La Vage (Vic) Julie Vulcan (NSW) Steve Mayhew (SA) Anne Walton (WA) Michelle Outram (NSW) Sarah Jane Pell (WA) Caroline Daish (SA) Kerrin Rowlands (SA)

Time_Place_Space was an initiative of the New Media Arts Board of the Australia Council. Th by e project was managed by ANAT and Performance Space in Sydney and co-curated Sarah Miller, Julianne Pierce and Fiona Winning.  Additional support by Artworkers (Qld), Arts SA and AIT Arts, Adelaide.

Related organisations